The X Factor: Season Two

The second season of The X Factor USA has been a rollercoaster ride filled with amazing singers, not so amazing singers, arguing judges, new hosts, tears, laughter, more tears and lets not forget It’s Britney, Bitch! With the addition of Britney Spears and Demi Lovato to the judging panel, the reality singing competition was bound to get WILLD! On last nights finale country singer Tate Stevens was crowned winner and took home the $5 Million Dollar recording contract.

XFTop3

When the auditions of the hit FOX show began to air on September 12, 2012, I knew there was something special about this season. You could tell that there was some instant chemistry between the new judges and veteran judges Simon Cowell & LA Reid. A shy Britney Spears seemed to one harsh critic in the early stages, but as time went on she showed America that sweet southern charm of hers. And let’s not forget about those crazy/awkward yet funny facial expressions coming of the Queen of Pop all season. It wasn’t long before Demi found her voice on the panel either.

XFJudges

When the auditions wrapped and the boot camp episodes began I found myself going back and forth between a handful of contestants as to who my favorites were. The first contestant I fell in love with was Jillian Jensen. Her audition, as Demi said, broke my heart. I also loved: The very single Panda Ross, the confident cheetah CeCe Frey, the girl who wouldn’t stop singing (Ally Brooke), the girl who did it better than to Beyonce (Dinah Jane Hansen) and the outspoken vocal coach Tara Simon.

XFactorFavAuditions

When the top four from each category were announced I excited that a few of my early favorites made it through to the live shows. As the lives began, I was definitely rooting for Miss X to the O herself, CeCe Frey, and newly formed girl group Fifth Harmony. Diamond White had also caught my attention with that contagious smile of hers.

XFFinalFavs

Week after week the contestants were eliminated one by one, Simon and Demi were at each others throats and Britney thought everything was “Amazing!” New co-hosts Khloé Kardashian Odom and Mario Lopez became an instant hit with the crowd, I mean anything was better than last seasons host Steve Jones. For this season the Leader Board was introduced to show the contestants and the audience the rankings according to Americas vote. I still can’t decide if I liked knowing the order or would have rather it been a mystery.

The Contestantants

I was shocked by some of the early eliminations. I thought Lyric145 was dope and I thought Jennel Garcia could have won the entire competition. I was wrong. I was thankful CeCe, who became my hands down favorite after singing “Eye of the Tiger,” stayed as long as she did. Everyone knows she didn’t have the best voice on the show, even she knew it, but I believe she was the most marketable and had more of that ‘X Factor” than the rest. I was sad to see her go, but I know this isnt the last time we’ll hear her name.


When it came down to the finals it was no surprise that Tate Stevens and Carly Rose Sonenclar made it through, considering they dominated the leader board week after week. I was excited to see Fifth Harmony beat out beach boys Emblem 3 for a spot in the Top 3. While watching the final performances I was hoping Fifth Harmony would knock out Tate and Carly for win. I felt like Carly, who differently had the best voice in the entire competition hands down, needed to show the world that she was 13 and perform songs that reflected her age. Tate was also very good, but country music isn’t exactly my go-to genre.


The final episode was packed with guest performances, outfit changes and some really cool video montages. I was hoping that some of the eliminated contestants would perform a few songs (…ok I really just wanted CeCe to perform) but it’s cool. I was happy to see Tate win. Now he can finally throw that “big ass party” he discussed before his first audition. With her AMAZING voice Carly Rose will definitely have a bright future, and it looks like Fifth Harmony has already inked a deal with SYCO.

Congratulations to all of The X Factor contestants!
I can’t wait for The X Factor Season Three in 2013!

Get Willd. Stay Willd.
-WD

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment