Throwback Thursday: Lady Gaga 01-10-10

This weeks Throwback Thursday post is dedicated to the one and only Lady Gaga! After the cancellation of the Fame Kills Tour, where Gaga was set to co-headline with Kanye West, the over the top pop star announced that she would begin her world tour earlier than expected. When the dates were announced for the first leg of The Monster Ball Tour, I was excited to see Chicago on the list. I remember it being around Halloween 2009 when my friends Sarah, Margo, Rachel and I got tickets to the January 10, 2010 show.

Lady_Gaga__Monster_Ball_Tour__by_vitoraws

We decided to make the drive down to Chicago a day early to enjoy the city. Gaga was originally scheduled to play at The Chicago Theatre but for some reason the concert was moved to The Rosemont Theatre. We stayed at the hotel across the street from the venue. It was a perfect night for shenanigans. As Gaga was playing her second of three consecutive shows in Chicago, we decided it would be fun to hang out at the theater. We met some of Gaga’s ‘people’ while she was performing. We were able to hear the show form the lobby, but had no luck getting in.

GagaChicagoSign

We went back to our hotel before Gaga finished her set. We thought we’d might as well wait until we can actually see the show the next day. When we arrived back to our hotel Jason Derülo, who served as the tours opening act, was hanging out in front of the lobby. It was Margo was the one who spotted the celeb. We were able to snap some pictures with him before he left for the ‘after party.’

MeAndJason

Jason wasn’t the only celebrity I met that night. Somehow I was able to meet Gaga after her show. She was really sweet. It was freezing out but Gaga stopped to sign autographs and take pictures with the 10 of us waiting outside of The Rosemont Theatre. Even though she stayed in her car, it was a cool to meet the global phenomenon again (I first met Gaga in 2009).

GagaNight2

On the day of the show Sarah, Margo and Rachel went to Sarah’s Grandma Marge’s house to get Gagafied. I stayed back because I had a VIP ticket with access to the pre-show party. Before the party I met some awesome ‘Little Monsters’ who I got to hang out with. The pre-show party was pretty boring. I ended up leaving early. Just as I walked out of the venue a Black SUV was pulling in. About 40/50 fans were outside waiting Gaga and Oprah’s camera crew. She signed autographs and posed with fans in the freezing cold, and I was lucky to get another picture with the megastar. She even remembered me from the night before which I thought was pretty cool.

MeAndGaga

When the doors opened to the public my friend finally showed up. We were all excited to see the show. We made it to our seats right before Semi Precious Weapons and Jason Derülo took the stage. Both acts rocked it out, but we all know we were there to see Gaga.

MeAndTheGirls

Lady Gaga opened the show with “Dance in the Dark.” The crowd went wild as she performed hit songs form The Fame and The Fame Monster. If you’ve ever been to a Lady Gaga concert you know she always delivers on stage.

GagaChicago1

I think my favorite performance of the night was “Poker Face.” Not only do I love the song, I love the choreography Gaga and her crew of dancers do.

GagaChicago2

Gaga was a non-stop ball of energy throughout her 17 song set. It was one of the best concerts I’ve been to. My favorite thing about Lady Gaga is that she does whatever she wants to do, and she doesn’t seem to care what anyone else thinks.

GagaChicago3

Lady Gaga is set to kick off the North American leg of The Born This Way Ball on January 14, 2013 in Tacoma, WA. Head on over to Ticketmaster for a list of tour dates and to purchase tickets.

Get Willd. Stay Willd.
-WD

This entry was posted in Concerts, Throwback Thursdays. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Throwback Thursday: Lady Gaga 01-10-10

  1. Sarah says:

    Aw! That was such a great night!! I’ll never forget Leo! haha

  2. Margo says:

    Lovvvved that night!!!! I’ll never forget Leo, his jacket, and his never ending tears hahaha
    GAGA “the first night we got to know each other, the second night we fooled around, but tonight, Chicago, … Are you ready to f*** me!!??!!”
    CROWD “YEAAAHHHHHHHHHH AHHHHHH”

Leave a comment