Throwback Thursday: The Songs That Made Them Famous

This weeks Throwback Thursday post is dedicated the songs that made some of today’s most popular artists famous. In 1993 Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera and Justin Timberlake joined the cast of the hit Disney Channel show The New Mickey Mouse Club. After becoming overnight celebrities, no one could have prepared them for what was in store. In 1995 Justin Timberlake was scouted by impresario Lou Pearlman to join his latest boy band group (a follow up to his success the Backstreet Boys). Justin along with fellow mouseketeer JC Chasez, Joey Fatone, Chris Kirkpatrick and Lance Bass became *NSYNC. The group’s first single was released on January 20, 1998 in the US. Although “I Want You Back” peaked at No. 13 on the US charts the song introduced *NSYNC to the world. I remember hearing it on the radio all the time when I was younger. It’s one of those feel good 90’s songs that everybody loved.


Britney Spears is one of today’s most successful recording artists. After the Mickey Mouse Club ended in 1996 Britney pursued a career as a singer/dancer/all around entertainer. At first she was in talks with Lou Pearlman to join the girl group Innosense, but later penned a solo deal with Jive Records under the RCA Music Group. On September 30, 1998 Britney released her first single “… Baby One More Time.” The song immediately hit the No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 Chart making Britney Spears a household name. I remember hearing the song on the radio for the first time when I was in fourth grade. I couldn’t get it out of my head. Since I was four years old when Britney was on the Mickey Mouse Club I didn’t know who she was at the time, but it wasn’t long before I became obsessed.


After the Mickey Mouse Club ended Christina Aguilera also went on to pursue her dreams of becoming a singer. After being introduced to A&R executive Ron Fair in 1998 Christina recorded the theme song to Disney’s latest animated movie Mulan. “Reflection” became Christina’s first released single since her Mickey Mouse Club days. The song peaked at No. 98 on the US Singles Chart. It wasn’t until the June 22, 1999 release of “Genie in a Bottle” that Christina became a household name. Like “…Baby One More Time,” “Genie in a Bottle” reached the No. 1 spot on the Billboard Hot 100. I remember seeing the music video on MTV before hearing the song on the radio, and since then I knew Christina was a star.


It’s crazy to think that Britney, Justin and Christina have been serving up hit after hit for the past 15 years. I can only hope they are around for another 15 years. I’ve grown up listening to every single album they’ve released thus far, and I couldn’t imagine what music would be like without them.

Get Willd. Stay Willd.
-WD

This entry was posted in Throwback Thursdays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment