Willd Exclusive! Alexz Johsnon

Alexz Johnson is a triple threat with her acting, singing and songwriting abilities. She has starred in TV shows such as So Weird and Instant Star, as well as movies like Final Destination 3 and the upcoming House of Bodies starring Queen Latifa and Terrence Howard. While on the show Instant Star, Alexz had the opportunity to show the world what she is capable of when it comes to singing. After signing two major record deals with Capitol Records and Epic/Sony, her debut album never released. Wanting to take control of her own music Alexz began to release her music independently.

Alexz2Photo Credit: Jessica Earnshaw

In 2012 Alexz began a Kickstarter campaign to raise $30,000 to tour the US and to release her Skipping Stones EP. In less than 24 hours Alexz not only reached her goal she doubled it. After touring the US in the summer of 2012, Alexz began another campaign to fund her latest album. Willd Exclusive Time! I’ve recently caught up with Alexz to discuss her latest tour, her upcoming projects and much much more!

540531_10150848279067828_704777100_nPhoto Credit: Jessica Earnshaw

WD: When did you first realize your passion for singing and acting?

AJ: When I was about 10, 11, 12ish.. I realized I had some sort of special control over my voice at a young age.

WD: You’ve recently moved from Canada to New York to pursue your music career . What has been the biggest change for you? What do you miss most about Canada being in the States?

AJ: I miss my family and friends I grew up with.. I miss the little things as well. But, NYC (Brooklyn) became like home pretty quickly for me. The biggest change was adjusting to the subway system and being in such a packed, transient city. Once you conquer the grid of the city, you’re good to go.

WD: What inspires you the most when writing/recording/performing a song?

AJ: Honesty and truth.. sharing some of your scariest and realest experiences can be a healing and amazing thing.

WD: If you could collaborate with any other artist who would it be and why?

AJ: So many! Right now, I’m loving Marcus Fosters voice… Paolo Nutini, I love his voice. Fun, Mikkey Ekko, Mumford & Sons… the list goes on.

WD: In 2012 you began a Kickstarter campaign to raise funds to tour the United States. You succeeded your goal of $30k in less than 24 hours and by the end of the campaign you raised over $67K. What was your reaction to that? Were you surprised that you not only reached your goal but doubled it?

AJ: Completely shocked… I had no idea how it was going to go down. It showed me I should keep making music a while longer… 🙂

WD: You’ve recently went on tour with Misty Boyce, Jay Stolar and Charlene Kaye. How has this tour differed from your Skipping Stones Tour last year? What’s your favorite part about performing live?

AJ: So many talented musicians, it was a learning experience both musically and professionally. Everyone was so professional and willing to help move things along to keep a nice flow. Delegating merchandise, driving and everything else that comes with a US tour. It was a great experience and being able to listen to Charlene and Jay and Misty open every night was a bonus.

WD: When you’re not writing/recording, performing on stage or on a movie set what do you enjoy doing? Who is Alexz Johnson behind the scenes?

AJ: I really enjoy yoga.. and cooking, HBO and coffee. I also love being outside as much as possible..

WD: Thinking back on your career thus far, what has been your biggest accomplishment? What are you most proud of?

AJ: I guess at this point, I’d have to say my inability to truly give up on my music. That’s what I’m most proud of.

WD: What’s next for Alexz Johnson? Any upcoming projects you’d like to share?

AJ: A new album! I am raising funds at www.pledgemusic.com/projects/alexzjohnson

WD: Anything else you’d like to share with your fans?

AJ: Thank you for making this last tour such a great experience and for always supporting me on my musical journey. I can’t wait to bring you more tunes!

Alexz 1Photo Credit: Jessica Earnshaw

For more info on Alexz visit www.alexzjohnson.com & be sure to follow her on Twitter.

Get Willd. Stay Willd.
-WD

This entry was posted in Willd Exclusives. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Willd Exclusive! Alexz Johsnon

  1. Pingback: Entrevista con WIlldentblog.com | Alexz Johnson Latinoamerica

Leave a comment