Throwback Thrsday: Ashlee Simpson 07-29-2006

Throwback Thursday Time! Since 2004 I’ve been a HUGE fan of Ashlee Simpson. From her days on 7th Heaven and her hit MTV reality show, Ashlee has been one of my absolute favorite singers. In the summer of 2006, Ashlee and her band hit the road in support of her second studio album I Am Me. The final stop on the L.O.V.E Tour was scheduled for July 29, 2006 at the DTE Energy Music Theatre in Clarkston, MI. There was no way I was going to miss this. When tickets went on sale, I was able to snag tickets in the 18th row on the left side. Although I was hoping for better seats, I was pretty stoked to see Ashlee again for the fifth time.

Ash0

The day before the concert I was checking to see if the show was sold out or not, and when I looked up tickets I was shocked at what I saw. I was able to pull up a front row tickets on Ticketmaster. I had to beg my dad to let me upgrade tickets, but it didn’t take long before he gave in. I couldn’t believe it. Not only was I going to see Ashlee again, but this time i was going to be front row center.

Ash1On the day of the concert I met up with my fellow Ashlee fan/friend Tayler. We the doors opened we immediately bought a ton of concert merchandise then proceeded to our front row seats. Ashley Parker-Angel, formerly of the boy band O-Town, opened the show. After his thirty minute set, it was time for the main event. I couldn’t contain my excitement.

Ash2Ashlee kicked of her set with “Boyfriend.” Wearing all black, Ashlee was looking good. “Burning Up,” “Nothing New,” “Autobiography,” and “Shadow” completed her first act. She was rocking out on that stage. I’ve never seen her with so much energy. I was loving the live sound of the band, and in case you were wondering Ashlee was indeed singing live!

Ash3After a quick outfit change, Ashlee returned to the stage wearing white jeans, a white jacket and rocking a black top hat. She covered the Eurythmics’ “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This).” The crowd was loving it. One of my favorite songs, “Eyes Wide Open,” was performed next. “In Another Life,” “Catch Me When I Fall,” and her latest hit “Invisible” completed her second act.

Ash4After a short break, Ashlee began her acoustic set. I loved watching her and her band strip the songs down to their core. She performed “Beautifully Broken” and “Undiscovered” this way. It was surreal watching her perform five feet in front of me. She sounded amazing!

Ash5A video montage played while Ashlee changed into a burlesque-style dress. She came back onto the stage to perform “Love Me For Me,” “Coming Back For More,” “Why Don’t Ya Do Right,” and “La La.” It was a hot night in Clarkston, Ashlee along with the entire audience was covered in sweat from head to toe, but she didn’t let the heat stop her from performing her heart out. She soon said her goodbyes and thanked the audience for coming.

Ash6It wasn’t long before Ashlee returned to the stage to perform an encore performance of “L.O.V.E” and “Pieces of Me.” After “L.O.V.E” was complete, one of her guitarist’s had to fix a sting. She told the audience that she was ‘told to hold on 30 seconds.’ She was standing right in front of me. Acting on impulse, I held up a sharpie marker and my tour program in the air. I was shocked when Ashlee came over to me and signed the program. I was on cloud nine!

Ash7One of my favorite things that Ashlee and her band does during “Pieces of Me” is when they stop playing so that you can hear the entire audience singing along. The concert was over before I knew it. Though I was sad it was over, I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. I can’t wait to hear Ashlee’s new material and see her again live.

Ash8Get Willd. Stay Willd.
-WD

This entry was posted in Throwback Thursdays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment